AIDG Mix Tape

I pilfered got this idea from Good Magazine. If I were to make an AIDG mixtape, these are the songs I would pick.

Afro Celt Sound System – Release
[Imagine that the singer is Mother Nature:
“Reach out and you’ll touch me | Make effort to speak to me | Call out and you’ll hear me”]

James Brown – Payback
[and then imagine the Mother Nature who brought a freak tornado to Brooklyn the day before yesterday… ” That’s it!! Payback!!! Revenge!!! I’m mad!! … Sold me out, for chump change (yes you did!!)”]

Orb – Fluffy Clouds
[Global Warming is having an effect on cloud formations, making the curious noctilucent clouds more common]

Cold Play – Don’t Panic
[“We live in a beautiful world | Yeah we do, yeah we do “]

Devotchka – How It Ends
[“And in your heart | You know it to be true, You know what you gotta do. | They all depend on you.”]

Wyclef Jean – If I were President
[Haitian Star Wyclef. Sing it, man, sing it.]

Carimi – Ayiti (Bang Bang)
[Talks about the U.S.’ various shenanigans in Haitian politics over time]

Gasolina – Daddy Yanqui
[Was the song always playing the summer we went down to start-up XelaTeco. Always thought it would be a good song to play in a documentary about our dependence on oil. To be played during a segment showing the many gas-guzzling SUVs and Hummers that plague our roads: “Me gusta la gasolina. Da me la gasolina”.]

1 Giant Leap – Daphne (featuring Eddi Reader, The Mahotella Queens & Revetti Sakalar)
[Just ’cause.]

Susheela Raman – Trust in Me (From Ministry of Sound Karma Collection, Originally from Disney’s “The Jungle Book”)
[Makes me think of those structural adjustment days. Couldn’t you just hear the IMF’s sibilant whisper “Trust in me, Just in me. Close your eyes| And trust in me | We can sleep safe and sound | Knowing I am around.” all while putting a choke hold on the economy.]

Joni Mitchell – Big Yellow Taxi
[“They took all the trees and put them in a tree museum.
And they charged all the people
A dollar and a half just to see ’em.
Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone?
They paved paradise and put up a parking lot.”]

Rob D – I’m Not Driving Anymore from Matrix Reloaded
[Public transportation is the way to go if you can get it]

Gotan Project – Queremos Paz

Leftfield – Phat Planet

Morcheeba – The Sea

Handsome boy modeling school – The Truth
[For all the global warming denialists out there, “You can’t hide from the truth | Because the truth is all there is”]

Tracy Chapman – Tell it Like it is
[Along the same lines as the above]

Gustavo Santaolalla – Apertura from Motorcycle Diaries
[Because you see pictures of Che Guevara everywhere in Guatemala]

Eric Prydz vs. Pink Floyd – Proper Education
[See video. Gotta love a little guerrilla global warming youth activism]

Cheb Khaled – Alech Taadi [Taxi Chase scene from the Fifth Element]
[ Well, if you’ve seen the movie, you know that the 5th element is love and that’s why we do what we do, love for mankind. Cheesy, but true.]

