Parts and Experience

So it’s a really amazing trade of experiences going on right now. They’re shocked by my ability to pull circuit board diagrams off the web and I’m amazed at their ability to electrically verify every component of a 50 year old 5 KW alternator in about 15 minutes. This is the thing that really amazes me about these guys, every time I talk about something that to most people I know in the states is some esoteric aspect of my knowledge, like acid etching circuit boards, or greensand casting aluminum they already have more experience with the skill than I do.

What they have lacked is the information and paid environment to put all of those experiences together into really amazing products. But they are getting it, bit by bit they are realizing that they have most all the skills they need already, without me really needing to teach them much of anything. It’s really funny, I’m trying to teach them computer skills and it took like an hour this morning for my electronics experts to enter a 20-item parts list into excel. Yet they have no problem looking at a diagram on my laptop and whipping up a charge controller that took me a few days to build in the states.

Materialwise I am really happy. We can buy everything here, it is amazing the range of raw materials for repairs and hacks. I mean I knew there was a lot of stuff before I began, it was part of why I chose this city, but as I get into the minutia of what is available just around the block it really blows my mind, bridge rectifiers, and greensand, selections of bearings and motor parts for pennies that would just boggle the mind in the US. Yet at the same time some obvious things I just expected to be there just don’t exist, like dried lumber, we are stickering our own, or plaster of Paris. And don’t get me started on power tools, a circular saw that is 30 dollars in Home Depot can cost 130US here . . .

